Paleo challenge: week 2

Paleo Challenge

I was aiming to have these posts up each Sunday night but here it is Monday afternoon and I’m just now sitting down to compose my thoughts about week 2 of our Paleo challenge.  

How was week 2?

Week 2 felt more challenging to both Carl and me.  I think it’s a combination of trying to get the most out of our summer by getting out of the house while still trying to eat as Paleo/healthy as possible.  In general I usually feel like I could do a better job of eating more veggies and less nuts.  I guess it just doesn’t occur to me to pack some cut up veggies in a little thermal zipper pouch (I am a Thirty-One consultant after all!) instead of packing it with nuts or Lara bars.  I’m also typing this as I have rosemary roasted almonds baking in the oven.  I think I just like salty, crunchy non-veggie snacks and it’s going to take a lot longer than 30 days to change that.  

Did we have any “cheat” meals or desserts?

I really don’t like thinking of them as “cheats” because that implies that we’re “dieting” and not trying to make a lifestyle change.  I am really trying to work on my view of perfection (as in I’m a perfectionist learning that life isn’t perfect) but for the sake of the guidelines set up by Whole30 and our box, we did.  This week our “cheats” were some dark chocolate covered macaroons on Thursday, some sweet potato chips on Friday and Five Guys on Saturday.  

After we ate the Five Guys on Saturday night Carl and I both agreed that we’d be skipping a “cheat” meal for week 3.  It’s just not a habit that we want to get into and while I do believe that part of healthy eating is eating all kinds of foods in moderation, I don’t think we are in a place to do that yet.  For us a “cheat meal” easily turns into two or three meals and us feeling horrible both physically and mentally.

How are we feeling?  

Really great!  I’d like to say that we have a ton of energy but we are still staying up too late.  That along with a toddler has us still wanting to crash mid-afternoon.  Obviously if Harper is up in the middle of the night we aren’t going to be able to get as much sleep as if she sleeps through, but we can go to sleep at a time that could get us the 8 hours we’d be better off with.

How’s CrossFit going?

Carl and I both made it to three classes for week 2!  I’m so proud of Carl for getting back to the gym!  I know he’s struggling with figuring out how to properly fuel (we take Vega Sport before a workout and Jay Robb Egg White Protein Powder after) but I think he needs something during a workout.  

Carl

It’s hard to say if doing the Paleo challenge is helping me with CrossFit because I had taken a month or so off and I’m totally sucking wind at just about everything.  I even had to go down in weight with my wall balls (from 14 lbs. to 10 lbs.) to work on my form.  Ah well.  It’s a process, right?

Notable, amazing food we’ve eaten

Week two we included some of our standby meals like chicken sausage, kale and broccoli, ground beef with veggies, and chicken sausage, peppers, and onions with zoodles (zucchini noodles).

New recipes include:

Goals for week 3

  • Make three CrossFit classes
  • Eat less nuts/bars and more veggies for snacks
  • Skip the “cheat” meal
  • Get 8 hours of sleep a night – meaning go to sleep earlier!

What are your goals for this week?

One thought on “Paleo challenge: week 2

  1. Pingback: Paleo challenge: week 3 | Life, Laughter & Unsweet Tea

Leave a Reply

