Thirty-Onderful Thursdays: The bag that started it all

Welcome to a new series that I’m starting on my blog called Thirty-Onderful Thursdays!

Thirty-Onederful Thursday

Each Thursday I’ll do some kind of spotlight on Thirty-One Gifts, a faith-based direct selling company that specializes in trendy and affordable purses, totes, bags and accessories.  These spotlights will include posts ranging from my favorite bags and organizing products to customer spotlights to Thirty-One for the man in your life.  In today’s Thirty-Onderful Thursday post I’m going to tell you about how I got started with Thirty-One.  My “why”, if you will.

A year and a half ago Amy, my sister-in-law, bought me my first Thirty-One bag for my birthday in July. I knew that Amy’s sister was a consultant and I’d seen the cute lunch boxes around school but I’d never actually seen a catalog or gone to a home party.

IMG_3958

I loved the bag that Amy bought me!  The pattern was bright and cheery and is still one of my favorite patterns. If I’m being honest, though, I didn’t use the bag all that much over the summer and the following fall.  It kinda sat in my closet and I didn’t think about it or Thirty-One for another five or six months.  (NOTE:  Now I use the bag every day as my school bag and I LOVE all of the room I have in it!)

Fast forward  to November and Amy bought a Thirty-One product for Harper around Thanksgiving.  It was the cutest lunch box! I loved the pattern and the lunchbox was the perfect size for the what we packed for Harper’s lunch each day.  I still hadn’t seen a catalog, still hadn’t been to a home party and put Thirty-One out of my head for another month.

Fast forward to Christmas and Amy brought me one of her sister’s catalogs.  I sat down one afternoon while Harper was taking a nap and made a list of all the products that I wanted.  It was an obscene list that was nearly a page long and totaled over $500!  Ha!  Obviously that wasn’t happening!  Then I turned to the back of the catalog and saw the $99 enrollment kit.  I compared the products to my list and saw that nearly everything that I wanted was in the kit and I would save a ton of money if I just purchased the enrollment kit.  That got me thinking.

At the same time I was looking at the catalog, loving the products and the 25% consultant discount, I was also talking with Carl about starting a pre-paid college plan for Harper.  We had just refinanced our home and were saving over $300/month.  I was so excited about watching our savings account grow when we realized that the pre-paid college plan would eat up nearly the exact amount we were looking to save from our re-fi.  My heart sank a little when I realized that we’d be financially in exactly in the same place that we were in already.  Good-bye big savings!  Good-bye family trips!  Good-bye damn credit card debt!

I started thinking about Thirty-One again.  I read the income disclosure and saw that I would earn 25% from my parties.  I knew that while I probably wouldn’t be a top consultant, Thirty-One would be a way to bring in some extra income, help offset the cost of Harper’s college and put us in a better place financially.  Carl and I talked about it more and I decided to join the Thirty-One family.

I have to admit that I didn’t make a whole lot of money in my first year but I met some amazing women and watched my confidence and my relationship with God grow.  I just celebrated my one year anniversary with the company and I am really excited for the changes that I’m already putting into place to help grow my business.   I can’t wait to see what 2014 brings for our family and my business!

Just think, it all started with a bag and a dream.

Are you involved with a direct selling company?  If so, which one?

Can you imagine yourself joining a direct selling company?

Leave a Reply

