“but God…”

Tonight has been a difficult night.  We have a lot of changes going on in the Unsweet Tea household and for some reason I’m really feeling the brunt of them tonight.  Between hearing some not so great medical news about Gramps, adopting a sweet new pup who has his own medical issues and potty training Harper (who is also going through a bit of a sleep regression on top of it) I’m just feeling a little bit like a wet dish rag.  Spent. 

Last night I discovered a new blog my friend Lindsay told me about called The Lipstick Gospel so I added it to my Feedly (does anyone else miss google reader?!) and came across this post that absolutely spoke to me.  So much so that I emailed it to my mom to read with the hopes that she will also find some comfort in it, too. 

Life is brutally hard sometimes.

But when we open ourselves up to trusting and following God—especially when it’s the hardest and makes the littlest sense—God will transform that suffering into something that could change the world.

Yes!  Yes!  Yes!  

I realize that the things that are going on in my life are nothing compared to what some others are dealing with right now.  But that doesn’t change the fact that God has brought me to this place to transform me.  Instead of saying “but God…” I will open myself up to see and learn the lesson that He has for me.  That doesn’t mean that I won’t cry, scream, and stomp my foot at some point (and I wonder where Harper gets her tantrums from?) but it does mean that I will have faith that there is something bigger than me at work.

Image

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Jeremiah 29:11

5 thoughts on ““but God…”

  1. So glad you like her blog!!!! The author is one of 3 women (that I don’t really know) who I want to be best friends with! She has a gift for telling stories and creating a desire in you to want to make your life count. And the words you quoted up there are so true!!! I believe that my story will be used to change people, and I’m already seeing redemption in some ways. God WILL use your circumstances to change someone’s world. Love you sweet friend!!!

    • I’m so glad that you recommended her because she is awesome! I can’t wait until she starts blogging again! There are a few other blogs that popped up when I typed in her blog and those are really great, too. Thank you so much for your support! xo

  2. Love this….I need to check out this blog. Thanks for sharing, I needed to hear it and I am sure so many others will feel the same! I will keep you on my prayer list! xoxoxo

  3. Pingback: 2014 word of the year | Life, Laughter & Unsweet Tea

Leave a Reply

